RSS

Give The Ladies A Chance

11 Jul

I’m giving women’s basketball a chance. Don’t laugh.

I watched a few women’s NCAA games this past season and was very much impressed. I enjoyed it more than the men’s games I watched. And when I stopped to think about it I figured if I told anyone what I was watching I probably would be made fun of. Generally, people don’t view women’s basketball, whether it is NCAA or WNBA, as legitimately as men’s. The thing is women’s basketball is all about passing and teamwork, which is lacking in the NBA and one of the reasons I don’t watch it anymore.

Why are we knocking these ladies? People comment sometimes like women’s basketball isn’t a true sport. Sport is defined by the following elements: competition, physical component, specialized facilities, and organization. Yep, they have all that. And if these female ballers play “too hard” or aggressively it can be labeled as butch or overly masculine, behavior that is applauded in other contexts. These women can definitely be lady-like and go hard. Why not? Adjust your viewpoint and brush off those assumptions.

Here’s how I see it: Watching the Women’s Final Four – exhilarating, seeing Maya Moore do exceedingly well (and receive a Jordan endorsement deal) – thrilling

The Men’s Final Four – sort of a snoozefest, this year’s draft class – uh, underwhelming

C’mon, how can you not get with the ladies? I’m going to make a conscious effort to watch more games, both WNBA and women’s NCAA.

Perhaps you should consider it.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 11, 2011 in Basketball, NCAA, Robin

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Give The Ladies A Chance

  1. Tamblyn

    July 26, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    I will actually watch UConn and UT Lady Vols play. I still cannot stomach the WNBA. I’m surprised they still have a women’s basketball league.

     
  2. Aminah

    August 21, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    I tried going to a few WNBA games. Just couldn’t get into it. Boring & the crowd just wasn’t excited. Don’t think I could ever watch on TV.

     
    • thesportygirlz

      September 6, 2011 at 2:39 pm

      At first I was going to type that I did not agree but I’ve been at games where the other fans have no spirit and energy whatsoever and it was draining. I felt odd for cheering when I did so I feel you.

       

What do you think?

 
