RSS

Robin’s Reaction to the NFL Draft

28 Apr

Below are my immediate thoughts on the NFL Draft as it occurred. I wasn’t expecting to watch it but I’m not that into the NBA and nothing else was on (The First 48 was a repeat).

1. Cam Newton, Carolina Panthers

I’m just not feeling Cam Newton anymore and I know I’m not alone. I have a problem with this smug bamma being able to say he’s a Heisman trophy winner, part of a BCS National Championship team, and now #1 draft pick. I am not impressed. Let’s hope he proves me wrong.

2. Von Miller, Denver Broncos

I don’t have a problem with this one. John Elway seemed very impressed with him. I thought it was touching that he showed such emotion. I’m a softie. Those glasses he had on were serious. Additionally, he is the rookie that is a plantiff on the players’ suit against the NFL.

3. Marcell Dareus, Buffalo Bills

I like Marcell, he seems like a great guy and he definitely works hard on the field (he did play for Saban after all). I’m just upset he went to Buffalo. Good luck there man.

4. A.J. Green, Cincinnati Bungles

Ochocinco called this one. He’s an awesome WR but he is not what the Bungles need. Carson Palmer is as good as gone so what is a team to do with two talented receivers and a slack QB.

5. Patrick Peterson, Arizona Cardinals

I don’t have much to say here. I wish he was playing for the Ravens, lol.

6. Julio Jones, Atlanta Falcons

So the Falcons wanted a playmaker, they really wanted Green but Cincinnati wanted him more, and gave away all that and the kitchen sink (this year #27, 59, and 124 and next year a first and fourth rounder) to trade up for Julio who looked quite bammarific in his silver tie.

7. Aldon Smith, San Francisco 49ers

Uhh *scratching head* I got nothing.

8. Jake Locker, Tennessee Titans

The Titans needed a QB after cutting ties with Vince Young. I don’t think most people thought it would be Locker.

9. Tyron Smith, Dallas Cowboys

The Cowboys desperately need to improve their offensive line so this works well for them.

10. Blaine Gabbert, Jacksonville Jaguars

Does anyone care about this one? Lol I know Gabbert was freaking out, he thought he would go higher.

11. J.J. Watt, Houston Texans

Ok, never heard of dude but the analysts said the Texans needed defense and that’s what they got.

12. Christian Ponder, Minnesota Vikings

What? They need a QB and this is who they pick?! Vikings might as well stick with Joe Webb (shout out to UAB).

13. Nick Fairley, Detroit Lions

I don’t care for Fairley. He plays dirty. However, he and Suh are one helluva combo. Watch out! That paisley tie though…?

14. Robert Quinn, St. Louis Rams

All I know is he got caught up in that scandal at UNC and did not play last year. He has got to be really good to have not played a year and get picked in the first round…I hope, they hope.

15. Mike Pouncey, Miami Dolphins

If he is anything like his twin brother Maurkice of the Steelers he should be an excellent player. I was hugely impressed by Maurkice’s rookie performance as a center and that’s tough to admit as a Ravens fan.

16. Ryan Kerrigan, Washington Redskins

Why is it that the Redskins always make a defensive pick? Clearly it’s the offense that needs work. C’mon son, get it together!

17. Nate Solder, New England Patriots

Do I have to say something nice about the Patriots? They never seem to make a bad pick so I’m sure this one will pay off well. *hate*

18. Corey Liuget, San Diego Chargers

I don’t have much to say here. Chargers should go with anyone who can help get them further in the playoffs.

19. Prince Amukamara, New York Giants

I didn’t think the Giants needed another CB but do what ya like. He definitely looked like a prince with his entourage/family, some with traditional garb. But this draft needed some variety anyway.

20. Adrian Clayborn, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Good story: Clayborn suffers from Erb’s palsy that caused damage to his right side and now he can say he’s a first round pick.

21. Phil Taylor, Cleveland Browns

Whatever it takes for the Browns to be competitive I guess. It won’t take much since Cincinnati is screwing itself over. But what about Peyton Hillis’ “award acceptance speech?” Sir, this is not the Grammys.

22. Anthony Castonzo, Indianapolis Colts

Someone to protect Peyton, makes sense.

23. Danny Watkins, Philadelphia Eagles

This sounds good, more safety and security for Vick and the offensive playmakers. And he’s a grown man too, no need to be concerned about his behavior.

24. Cameron Jordan, New Orleans Saints

I wanted Mark Ingram here, I thought that would be awesome. Oh well. But clearly Jordan knew where he was going with his suit choice of color: metallic gold.

25. James Carpenter, Seattle Seahawks

I should know this guy because he played at Alabama but I don’t. AND he got picked before Ingram. Alrighty.

26. Jonathan Baldwin, Kansas City Chiefs

It’s making even less sense now because I’m waiting for the Ravens pick and it’s getting late.

27. Jimmy Smith, Baltimore Ravens

*sigh* Yes, we need better CBs but I am not pleased. Again, there are behavior issues and past issues with drugs. I will hope that the vets will get him on the right path. If he effs up, I’m coming for him.

28. Mark Ingram, New Orleans Saints

I LOVE this pick. I’m sorry he had to wait but he is on a winning squad that needs improvement at RB. I will be watching the Saints this year. I am more pleased with this pick than I am with my team’s pick.

29. Gabe Carimi, Chicago Bears

Okay, take care of Jay Cutler, that’s an easy decision to make.

30. Muhammad Wilkerson, New York Jets

This makes the Jets defense even better.

31. Cameron Heyward, Pittsburgh Steelers

Repeat what I said above and input Steelers instead of Jets. His father is Ironhead Heyward.

32. Derek Sherrod, Green Bay Packers

He looks to fit the Packers and that’s all I can say cause I want to go to bed.

Feel free to add to my comments or disagree. My apologies but I will not be doing this for the remaining rounds. Lol Now let’s get a deal done so we can have some football in the fall.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 28, 2011 in Football, NFL, Robin

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Robin’s Reaction to the NFL Draft

  1. Tamblyn

    May 10, 2011 at 9:40 am

    I have always expresses my dislike for Spam Newton and his pimping preaching daddy. I will be glad when some 500 OL men knocks that smug look off his face. I keep telling people his elevator doesn’t reach the top floor. Trust me Robin he will not prove you wrong. The Panthers will still suck if a season starts on time. As mush as I HATE Bama I was so happy for Mark Ingram. I’ve always loved him as a player and his entire attitude. Reggie Bush just sealed his faith with all those stupid tweetes he posted about “enjoying the vacation” by way of the lockout. He attitude proved why his performance on the field sucks.

     

What do you think?

 
